deborah petersen.social media editor.writer.guide

Unraveling Social Media One Tool at a Time


I am posting this because I see too many talented people leaving newspapers.

The Buttry Diary

“I need to find the joy and excitement I once experienced as a journalist,” an editor told me in a recent comment on my blog. “I just don’t feel it right now. I pray it will return.”

This editor, Emily Olson, managing editor of the Register Citizen in Torrington, Conn., is not one of the curmudgeons I addressed recently, resisting change in newsrooms. She is leading change in her newsroom. She was described by her publisher at the time (and now her group editor), Matt DeRienzo as an “unsung hero” of the Journal Register Co. turnaround. In the video below, Emily discusses the Register Citizen’s Newsroom Café , recognized by the Associated Press Media Editors as Innovator of the Year for 2011.

So why and how has someone who shared in the innovation of the year lost her joy and excitement for journalism? And how can she…

View original post 2,125 more words

One comment on “

  1. Steve Buttry
    April 26, 2012

    Thanks for sharing, Deb!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 26, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
